top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaitlin Carter

Philosophy of Education (Freshman year of college)

Updated: Apr 15, 2020


Philosophy of Education 2019

Through my own experiences as a student through K-12 grades and now wanting to become a teacher in Elementary Education I have viewed many ways teachers have taught. I believe education is important for each individual student to learn in their own personalized way and together as a group of peers. Over the years I have developed my own personal teaching philosophy that will be used in my future classrooms. I am always open to hearing new ideas, ways I can help better my classroom, and better each of my students’ education. As a teacher I need to set aside my emotions and personal needs for my students. I also believe that high energy levels and a positive attitude from the teacher are key elements to a successful learning environment. Each students’ Whole Child needs come first before anything else when teaching. I believe that raising your voice in a condescending tone or outrageous punishment is unnecessary, and only makes the students dislike school. As teachers, we are here to educate, motivate, and help the student reach their full potential.


In my classroom, I would like each student to feel like their classroom can be a second home, a place to express their creative side, and explore their academic future. Students should experiment with their own likes and dislikes in the classroom. Along with allowing them to discover their strengths and weaknesses leading them to become stronger as an individual. Each student will understand what type of learner they are to allow myself to help teach them in the best way. The class will be organized but the students will still be able to make a creative mess.


As a teacher in the classroom I would like to promote the whole child, freedom to make right choices, individualism, self-discovery, and creativity. I still believe a structured day is needed for each student, and not complete freedom. I will teach by using the four different types of learning so no student is left out. When It comes to discipline I feel the teacher and student should both come up with a reasonable compromise both can agree on. As a teacher I believe students will need to develop their social and interaction skills by working in groups throughout the school year. A teacher should be someone a student can look up too, kind, helpful, and always wanting the best for their students. I believe I can and will try my best every day to make my philosophy of education come true in my classroom.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page