top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaitlin Carter

Reflecting on my Freshmen Year of College


 

College

I started at Golden West College Fall 2019 and loved college. I then was able to transfer to Vanguard University in Costa Mesa, California. This semester I applied, wrote an essay, and interviewed for the ITEP program. The ITEP program allows a student to finish college credits in three years, and finish the credential in their fourth and final year of college. It is a very hard route to take, and I am happy to say I am apart of it.

 

Why Be A Teacher?

A student starts school at age six and continues their journey till they graduate at age eighteen. As a teacher you will help these students learn, find a love for learning, help them grow as a person, and help them reach graduation day. A teacher has a huge impact on a student that can be positive or negative for them. From my personal experience I had the good and the bad from my teachers growing up. In high school, I never had the dream to go to a prestigious university or even a thought in my mind of what I wanted in a career. It was not until my junior year of high school I was receiving a letter grade of a D in my math class. This was a first for me, and I was always a B or A grade student. I constantly asked my teacher for help and did not receive any help from him. This resulted in me coming home crying after school, and I ended up hating learning. I slowly started to drop my grades and was not thrilled at my high school. This led me to my subsequent path of going to an independent high school. This is where I found my love for learning through the teachers who had helped me achieve my goals. The teachers here at this school were so generous, wanted you to love learning, and wanted the best for you as a student. This is when I realized I wanted to pursue a teaching career. I do not want any student to feel the way I did in high school or any grade they are in. I hope I can show each student how to love learning, and not let a challenging teacher change their mind about loving school. My goal as a teacher is to try and help students to enjoy school more than they did when they began my class. I will even be content if I change a few students' minds about their views on school.


 

What I am doing now

Currently, I am volunteering at a Title One school in Fountain Valley, California in a Kindergarten Classroom. I have been doing this for the past eight months twice a week, and have found so much enjoyment from volunteering. This has allowed me to experience what it is like to work with English language learners, average students, and kids with disabilities. Volunteering has become my favorite part of the week and learning about how each student learns. I am interested in teaching K-6 grades due to how excited and driven they are to learn. Although, I am still pondering the idea of teaching high school later in my career. In the long run I would like to end up as principal of a school, and continue my education. Coming to Vanguard has made me realize how lucky I am to be surrounded by outstanding educators.


 

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page